Meet Mr. Swashbuckler

Mr. Swashbuckler

I picked up Mr. Swashbuckler back in Boston airport.

He is what’s known as Varua, a good spirit doll, and he’s meant to accompany me on my life adventures and keep me safe. So far, so good!

After seeing the glowworms at the Waitomo Caves, I passed through Rotorua and went white water rafting on the Kaituna river — in Maori “kai” means food and “tuna” means eel. The Kaituna river provided food to the Maori and sheltered women and children in hidden caves during times of tribal war.

Sadly, I don’t have any pictures of my raft weaving through challenging rapids and heading over a 7 meter water fall (the highest commercially rafted waterfall in the world). Yet, I think you can get the idea from these images:

That raft is vertical!
Made it!

Thankfully, I survived the ordeal unscathed, and I thank Mr. Swashbuckler!

Leave a Reply

